Considering starting a Fleece Flock

alpinefarm

Just born
Reaction score
I am a rug weaver and am looking for just the right sheep breed(s) to start a flock for fleece. I need a long, coarse fleece for my weaving in various colors. Karakul fleece is lovely for my purposes...yet they are rather skittish from my observations and I am new to having sheep. Icelandics are another interest. Soays would be a possibility to start with, given that they shed.

I would also like to be able to milk a ewe or two for my family.

Anyway, I thought I'd get started here and hope to learn...

Rosemary
Colorado

mully

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
:welcome Get a llama for long fiber to weave they are sweet animals.

KareyABohr

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
There is an Amish family in my area who raise icelandic, BEAUTIFUL yarn to crochet with. Welcome!

Ninny

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I would love this info too! Are weithers the best for fleece?

Spinster

Just born
Reaction score
I've been a handspinner for a long time. You are on the right track thinking coarse wool is your best bet for rug making. Karakuls are 'hair' sheep, they do not grow wool, but they are not the only ones who 'shed.' Don't be afraid of shearing though - with only a few sheep, you can do it with hand shears, or even scissors. You don't have to try to find a shearer.

Look for 'longwool' breeds - Romney, Lincoln, any of the Leicesters (English, Bluefaced, Longwool). The added benefit to longwools is they have the most wonderful LUSTER and take dye beautifully. If you are more into natural colors, Scottish Blackface and Jacob are also worth checking into.

You could use Llama or Icelandic - or any other wool or fiber for rugs, and they would be cushy and soft, but I don't think they would be too durable.

For milk - Finns are very 'milky,' but they have lambs by the litter! triplets, quads, quints, are not unusual. They need all that milk to feed all those babies.