Coughing goat

KatandCrowley

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have a 2 year old wether that I just bought a few months ago. He coughs occasionally maybe a few times a day. It is most noticeable before he goes to sleep at night, after he has eaten hay and some grain. My other goats do not cough at all. I'm pretty new to owning goats and I just want to know if I should get a vet out to see him. He gets current vaccinations in a couple more months but should I be concerned enough to have him looked at before then? Thanks

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
It may be nothing it may be something.
Having a vet out to examine him is a good idea.

Could be dust in the hay and he is more sensitive, could be he eats too fast with the grain, could be allergy, could be lungworm, could be, could be, could be... ;)

I would take a temperature first. Is there any discharge?
Having a vet listen to his lungs as well as just a check up is not going to hurt.

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
I would not have the vet out for an occasional cough as you have described if no temp
I would observe to see if it got worse then maybe

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
As for if it will hurt... that depends on if you consider the wallet side of the equation... For a simple issue, I'd consider taking the goat TO the vet vs a farm call.

Oh, and shame on me... Greetings from the front range in Colorado :frow :welcome! Glad you came aboard! Hope your goat cough turns into a non-issue. Hope you'll stick around and join in some of the discussions. :caf Lots of great goat folk here who gladly help when needed. Share a pic or two when you've got a chance so we can all OOOoooo and AAAahhhh over you goats ;)

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
I do not consider "coughing several times a day" an occasional cough.