Coughing... Lung worms OR Virus?

Sara1226

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to having goats, and this is my first posting. I started with 2 Nigerian dwarf wethers from a reputable breeder, and added a 3rd one 2 weeks ago. The third one was born the beginning of July. After about the 2nd day I had him I noticed he had a dry cough. I let it go a day to see if it would clear up and it didn't so I took him to a vet that sees farm animals. The doctor concluded he had lung worms based on the fact that he was under weight (14 pounds), his coat was thin, and the breeder (different person from the other two I got) had never wormed him. Doctor gave me an antibiotic pill, and told me to also worm with safeguard. A fellow goat owner told me to use Ivermectin instead. *Now forgive me... I'm terrible at math and measurements. I can't figure it out to save my life.* I wormed for 3 days with 1/2 inch squirt out of an ivermectin paste tube. I tried to get the antibiotic into him but no matter what I did he spit it out. Crushed it.. used apple sauce, molasses, etc. still fought me tooth and nail! As I noticed one of my previous two goats (they HAVE been wormed twice) started a dry cough. So I checked back in with the vet and he said to give up on the antibiotic (I requested more) and try the safeguard.

Should I try to find my own antibiotic online? Is there a kind I can out in water to treat all three goats?

Is that the right thing to do? I'm at a loss and very frustrated, can someone PLEASE tell me if this sounds like worms or a virus??

Any help is greatly appreciated! I don't know what to do. I'll try to attach some pictures of them.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    147.1 KB · Views: 679

Sara1226

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Little guy.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    86.7 KB · Views: 620

Ponker

Loving the herd life
Reaction score