Crusty Noses on New Goats

RonHarvey

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hello,

I have 3 new goats. Two of them have developed blockage of the nose. It is dry and crusty and they have having trouble breathing through their noses.
2 photos attached (I hope). Any suggestions as to what this is, how serious it is, and what I can do for them.

In case I cant find my way back to this forum, please respond to rharvey@jaspercompliance.com also.

Thank you

By the way - I am very new to goats. Just a couple weeks ago I was given charge of the goats at my family farm.
It is my hope that this forum will be helpful.

Darn - Cant figure out how to insert photos.

RonHarvey

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Well, I figured out how to post the photos, but "brand new members" cant post them due to spammers.

If you would like to look at the photos I guess I will have to email them to you for now.

Thanks.

RonHarvey

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I do not have a way to take their temp, so I am not sure about that.
Generally they seem active and they are eating.

They do sound congested because they are breathing through their mouths mostly. When they try to breath through the nose, it sounds "Wheezy".

I have not tried to clean their noses. They are new here and are still nervous about me getting close. I will try to do that and let you know.
Q-tips and a little water would do the trick I assume.

Thanks.

Still cant post the photo

greenfamilyfarms

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
It could be something as simple as hay mold allergies, but it could be worse. See if you can get a digital thermometer and check some temps. You'll have to do this rectally. It will be much easier if you have a helper to hold the goat while you take the temp.