CTChick - Farmette in the 'burbs

CTChick

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hi! I love this site, found it through Backyard Chickens - chicks came first a few years ago, this spring I dove into goats. I've been posting here and there, wonderful advice provided and lots of fun. Here's my journal: I guess I'll start with the questions suggested and add as I go.

Laura

1. What state/province/country are you in and what is your climate like? Shelton, CT - northeast USA. It gets cold here. I was raised in California ... let's just say I've gotten used to it. Sorta. The animals certainly like it more than I do!

2. How many people are in your family? Marital status? Married with four kids, ages 19 through 8.

3. How would you define your farm? Kinda sorta "legal" we have two acres that backs into woodland, reservoir property. Hilly.

4. What would you do with your spare time if you had any resources you needed? I am a writer, publisher asking for book I promised back in June - 'course, I never said June of what YEAR. 2013 is looking good ... :)

5. Have you ever built a house, barn , or other types of building? Do you want to? I have built a chicken coop, I would LOVE to build a small cabin on the property.

6. Can you weld? Steel, aluminum, MiG, TiG, stick, Oxy-Acet? My husband is a certified welder. Very busy, very talented.

7. Who or what inspired you to be a farmer/rancher, hobby farmer? Love animals - used to work in a vet hospital, wanted to be a vet myself.

8 Is it a hobby or an occupation? It's an OBSESSION!

9. In what areas are you knowledgeable and in what areas would you like to learn more? Goats are new this year, at some point I should really learn how to butcher especially as food prices continue to escalate.

10. What types of farming will you never choose to do? Hogs do not interest me, maybe a tiny one as a pet ... but I do not like ham or bacon.

11. Are you interested in providing more of your own food supply? Yes. I am a prepper/survivalist.