De-Worming Goat About to Kid?

thailand

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Against good advice given on this forum I have neglected to de-worm my pregnant goat during the time she's been mine....about 2 months. I don't have a due date for her, but was told it should be around end of January/early February. She is looking very close to kidding to me, even though I'm a complete novice. Over the last 2 weeks she has been ravenous, eating non-stop! Yesterday I decided to check her inner eyelids and saw that they are a light pink. This suggests worms right?

How close to kidding can I de-worm her? And what would be the safest medication? I understand that I could get a fecal count done, but I'm thinking because her inner eyelids are pale pink I should just go ahead with de-worming?

Apologies to those whose previous advice I neglected to take :hide . Please forgive my sillyness.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
Part of her ravenous eating is because she is getting closer to kidding date. They eat more. They need more.

If you have ivermectin there that would be safest.

thailand

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
We can get Ivermectin here. Do you think it would be ok to wait until she kids though??

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
Her hormones will cause a parasite "bloom" so it really depends on her parasite levels.
That is why any new goat coming in should be checked as there is a bloom that occurs during transport. Now add to that pregnancy and hormones....

There is a color chart- unfortunately it is not represented well being posted as a pic but see where she falls on this... (it is halfway down)
http://www.backyardherds.com/resources/understanding-famacha-fecal-analysis.56/

It would be better to deworm now then check her at 3-6 weeks after kidding.