Dead kid

manybirds

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
yesterday I noticed a kid pretty down and out so I separated her out gave her copper Bolus and some corrid thinking it was a little coccidiosis or something. Today my mom called me to tell me that she was thrashing around and screaming so I rushed home and by the time I got there she was dead. I hate wondering about what happened and not learning from it so I was wondering about maybe cutting her open? I've never done it before but is there something I could possibly see, as someone with no real training in anatomy, that would teach me anything? I hate to just throw her not knowing. Also, it may sound a little morbid, but I know some people who will butcher a dead or slightly sick goat out so it doesn't just go to waste. Is that recommendable? Answers asap please as it is hot and buggy and it won't take her long to bloat out im sure.

AClark

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
If you're going to do a necropsy, do it fast. We used to do horses that died from colic and you could see where the gut had telescoped or had a blockage, but if you waited even an hour, they bloated up fast and God forbid you hit a gut with a knife...not good, and shower worthy.
Not sure that you'd see anything of particular interest, sounds like she went out really rough and painfully so you might notice something that doesn't look right though. Can't hurt to try, and learn, she's already gone so it's not like it will hurt anything.

Goat Whisperer

Herd Master
Reaction score
You may or may not see anything. If you aren't trained you probably will not know what to look for. Do you have a lab or vet that could necropsy the kid? Putting the goat in a cooler with ice until you get someone to do it would be good.

We ALWAYS necropsy any goat that dies.

Our state lab charges about $30 and it very thorough. Every lab is different though.

So sorry for your loss :hugs

manybirds

Loving the herd life
Reaction score