Definitely getting an LGD now...

SA Farm

Herd Master
Reaction score
Well, we just got hit again...Hard :hit:somad
So tired of dealing with the packs of stray dogs and the occasional coyote or fox that comes in and takes out our animals, so I finally got DH on board to get an LGD.
I have a lot of dog training experience, but it's mostly limited to obedience training rather than LGD training. Any and all information would be appreciated. @Southern by choice
In our area, there are a few options - there is one place that's a really long drive, but they have 1.5 year old Anatolian Shepherds experienced with goats and poultry or 14 week old puppies available.
Another option is Great Pyrs that are a bit closer, 20 week old puppies. There are Kuvasz in the area, but they are more show lines, so not really considering them.

We have 2 1/2 unfenced acres. We have fenced portions for our chickens, ducks, geese, turkeys, goats, and hutches for the rabbits. We need something that will protect all of them and will stay on the property as best as possible and can dissuade larger packs of dogs. This morning there were 4 of them. :somad
What say you all?

brogan007

Just born
Reaction score
If you can see the stray dogs...can you not knock some over with a rifle? Get a head start, help out your LGD and just even up the playing field for your animals. Damn these stray dogs.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
What do you mean by fenced portions?

Do not waste your time or money on a LGD until the property is properly fenced. Having adequate fencing alone may solve the issue.
You are on a small property and the dogs are not going to just stay there. In a LGD's mind their property extends to as far as they can see.
Being honest here SA- NO breeder should sell a LGD to anyone without proper fencing and if one tells you they will stay with the animals or that an invisible fence is ok... RUN the other way.

SA Farm

Herd Master
Reaction score