Dexter processing, when is too late?

The Farming Carpenter

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I've got 2 dexters, 3 yr heifer and 6yr cow.

I understand it's best to process around 24-28months. Since we're past the prime, I'm looking for info to help me in case they aren't bred and need to head to the butcher.

Will the meat be different? Tough cuts forcing us to consider all ground?

Thanks for any info you can provide.

HI, I have Dexter's also, I am new to it as well. Always had Pollard Heifers. They say that this breed actually gets better with age. So your safe to butcher her. I watch JUST A FEW ACRES on YOUTUBE, he's excellent
resource for knowledge on this breed. Good Luck.

MTKitty

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
My thought on processing age recommendation is that it’s more of an economic decision. For this breed, two years is likely the best scenario for potential growth vs feed costs to get more of that growth. Going longer probably won’t do much other than cost more in feed than you would get in additional meat — outside of the issues of toughness mentioned earlier.

Ron Bequeath

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
The "filet" or backstrap or tenderloin, as it is often called will be fine for steaks... You can probably do NY strips and ribeyes on the younger animal with no problems. Realize that the "muscle groups" that get the most exercise will be the "tougher" cuts.
If you do stews or cook moist heat... then most of the roasts will work... I would certainly do stew meat... it gets cooked in some sort of liquid...===tenderness. Cube steaks get pounded quite well so will be a possibility... most are cooked in a gravy anyway...
I would do more ground beef on the older one... but again, the ribeye and the filet or tenderloin should still be pretty decent. And, anything that is going to be cooked in moist heat....stew meat.....