DHIR Questions

DesertDawn

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I am new to the goat world. I have 3 Nigerian doelings. Two are almost 6 months and one is 10 months and expected to freshen Nov/Dec (I purchased her and discovered she was pregnant after the fact.) I'd like to enter the ADGA's DHIR but I have lots and lots of questions. I'll preface this by saying that I have been on the ADGA site and just when I thought I had a basic understanding, I read convo from goat folks and realize I have more questions. I have lots of questions, here they are:

1. Is there a book or online program or something where I can learn the ins and outs of the DHIR program? It seems so choppy on the ADGA website.

2. Is it worth it at this point in time for me to do this program. I will only have one doe in milk next year as the other two won't be old enough to breed until May 2018.

3. I'd really like to see what level the doe I have is at, as far as, milk quality, quantity, etc. Would it be better to do my own testing for the first year?

4. None of my doelings have tattoos. I have become friends with the breeder and she does have a tattoo kit and said I could borrow it to tattoo my girls. Can I do this at any age? I see there are 2 different sizes of letters/numbers, what size should I use? I've read it's good to do it when they're small and the tattoos grow with their ears. I need to purchase a kit of my own any recommendations?

Any advice and direction would be very much appreciated.

rosti

Loving the herd life
Reaction score