Diarrhea in Alpaca

sadie423

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am new to alpacas. Ours have been with us about a month and a half, their previous farm had very little/no grass and they ate mostly grain/hay. They have been in a yard that had some forage, not a ton, shared with our buck. Who has been fighting worms the past few days. We have been working as fast as we can to get them into their new pasture with more forage and no sick goats. We moved them on Friday night, so they have been in their new pasture for 2 full days now. I noticed this morning an area of really watery diarrhea. I watched on and off all day and finally found out which alpaca is suffering from the diarrhea. He is about 1 yr old, a suri. He had a particularly hard time moving pastures (is rather untrusting and didn't like being haltered. Ran off before I got it off him so I had to catch him the following morning and remove it) so he has had a stressful couple days. He is also in a pasture now- about half an acre of all forage, which is new to his system.

I know all of that stuff- lots of greens, stress, etc can cause digestive upset, but I am also a little worried he picked up something from the goat. But it was really watery. And lots of it. I have ivomec injectable if I need it, and I sprinkled some of my herbal wormer that I use for the goats on their grain today. I am not sure what else I need to do? If it's greens will it subside on it's own once he gets used to it? He was wormed, vaccinated, etc just before he was delivered here.

Thanks
Sarah

purplequeenvt

Herd Master
Reaction score
My guess is that it is just the change in diet and that it will subside in a few days. It could also be stress. I had a llama that would get diarrhea every time something changed in her life, no matter how small.

It wouldn't hurt to deworm him again. You could also offer him some hay so that he isn't filling up on all that wet stuff.

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score