Disbudding for the first time, Please Help!!

ForeverDreamingFarm

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hi! I am extremely new to this, recently took on some of my grandmothers Hair Sheep. We have 5 ewes, 1 gave birth to twin girls (yay!) a little over a month ago and they’re doing great in spite of all my worrying. Another of our sweet girls just gave birth to a ram lamb.... we had decided that we would get rid of any males as with their horns can be so destructive! But now that he is here I don’t think I will be able to part with him. That being said, we have decided to disbud him. He’s 3 days old today, I’ve ordered the iron. But I’m VERY NERVOUS!!! Is there any medication I need to give him or apply afterward? Am I to understand the tip of the iron should fit around the bud but not be wider than the bud? Is there any problem with them nursing afterward (sore head)? It’s breaking my heart even thinking about it, but I know he will have a great life with us, if we can just get this done. Thankyou for any advice.

Roving Jacobs

Seeing Spots
Reaction score
I've not heard of anyone disbudding sheep and most hairsheep breeds are naturally polled. Are you sure he will have horns? At 3 days you will be able to feel horns coming through already if he's horned. Don't have any advice if he does need to be disbudded as I'm a big fan of horns but maybe ask any dairy goat people near you for help/

HomeOnTheRange

Golden Herd Lurker
Reaction score
There are several threads with entries on this subject. All of them I think are with goats (I know they will scream like crazy). The sheep gurus I know on here are @Mike CHS and @Baymule.
The big things is to keep the head still and make sure the burn is long enough to get the bud, but his is only from reading post on this forum.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score