Do goats always “look pregnant”

AFewGoatsForMe

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
We have a Nubian that is supposed to be due next month, April 5th. The man said she had been exposed twice and never came back into heat. She doesn’t look preganant though. She has a little shape but not like the other goats I see on here. This is my first time with a pregnant doe, so I have nothing to compare this with. She eats really well. Always free choice hay and loose mineral, she also gets alfalfa pellet.

luvmypets

Herd Master
Reaction score
Pictures would be a good idea, we all love pics here. Take a picture from above her, also she might just be hiding the kids. I have a ewe who looked a bit chubby a month from her pregnancy, but by the time the lambs were born she was massive

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Some goats, (generally the large standard sized ones) can hide it well. Is she a first timer? She may be carrying as single and have enough space in her body cavity that the baby isn't bulging out.

AFewGoatsForMe

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
This will be her second time kidding, her first time she had twins. I’ll take some pictures tomorrow.

Latestarter

Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
A pic looking straight down from above will be most telling. :)

Latestarter

Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Here's Dot. This is her 2nd freshening. 1st year was a single doeling and she was barely this size at delivery. I'm anticipating twins this year. :D
upload_2018-3-6_21-56-32.png

AFewGoatsForMe

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Hello again. We’ve been busy so I haven’t really been on here much. My husband and I decided that the goat that this is originally about is not pregnant. She just isn’t showing any outward signs. I know that isn’t 100% proof of a non pregnancy, but I would think with her being “due” in less than a week she would’ve at least started filling her udder or something.