Do I have enough land?

bic

Just born
Reaction score
We have about 5.5 acres, but are only wanting to sacrifice about .5 acres or so for sheep. Ideally we would only have one ram and one ewe (if that is okay? - fill me in as I'm a newb). The lambs will be processed and not kept.

Side note, we have access to a pretty much unlimited free supply of grains (corn & wheat mostly) from a friend that works at a mill, so we're not overly concerned about grazing, but don't want to turn the land to crap like our chicken area. It would be nice though if they could supplement their diet by grazing or to know that they could graze more if our friend were to lose his ability to get the grains.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
I no longer have sheep. I do have a bajillion goats though.

As far as the 1/2 acre. The 2 sheep will graze that to nothing in no time.
The feed, although it is great that you have a deal like that, sheep DO NOT live off grain. It will kill them if that is their diet. Feed is used as a supplement.
Sheep must have grass/hay. They are ruminants.
Sheep are also GRAZERS that is what they do and what they eat.

You can dry lot sheep but you will need to provide good quality hay 24/7.
You will also have to have a place for the ram when lambs are born and growing. Also any ewe labs you have will definitely need to be away from the ram so they are not bred too young and they have not gone to market yet.

Rams can be very aggressive and very dangerous. Keep that in mind. Of course some breeds seem to be better than others in that area.

With 5.5 acres why not open it up for them? They will not destroy that if you have just a few.

Maybe taking this wrong but when you say "sacrifice" 1/2 acre for the sheep my first thought was are you sure your cut out for livestock? :hide

bic

Just born
Reaction score