Does this ewe look healthy to you?

Ewesosillyfarmstead

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am looking to purchase new sheep to add to my flock. I’m still pretty new and need advise please. I found a yearling and her ram lamb for $600 4 hours from us. He sent me a picture of them but she doesn’t look as healthy as mine to me but again I’m still learning. I asked if she had a Health check done recently. He sent me a picture and this response.
She received full spectrum abortion and enertoxemia vaccine protocol in December. We have 200 sheep here and neighbor is a retired veterinarian who works with us.
should I keep looking?

Attachments

• A815BF7B-6D12-4949-84EE-7972B94BB35C.jpeg
    A815BF7B-6D12-4949-84EE-7972B94BB35C.jpeg
    470.7 KB · Views: 367

Beekissed

Herd Master
Reaction score
You have to ask yourself why someone is selling a breeding ewe and her lamb. The lamb, I can see, as everyone sells their lambs each year....but when someone is selling a breeding ewe, it's usually something they are culling from their flock for a particular reason.

It's hard to tell her conditioning and conformation due to the wool and one has to wonder why she hasn't been sheared by now, or if a hair breed or hair mix of some kind, why she carries so much wool. If a wool breed, why are there patches missing?

Not sure what you are looking for or what traits you are developing or even what breed this sheep is, but she's not one I'd ever consider buying....but then, I'm not in the market for small wool breed sheep.

Legamin

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I am looking to purchase new sheep to add to my flock. I’m still pretty new and need advise please. I found a yearling and her ram lamb for $600 4 hours from us. He sent me a picture of them but she doesn’t look as healthy as mine to me but again I’m still learning. I asked if she had a Health check done recently. He sent me a picture and this response.