B3NZ0

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
So I am new to pigs and, Idecided to start with potbelly pigs. I purchased 3 does 2 breed and one that just got done with a litter as well as a 4 year old boar. At first more boar was more skiddish then the others but now he seems like he wants to attack me? Any help or insight on how to became my boars alpha in a way safe for me and my pig? Or maybe he just wants to play?

luvmypets

Herd Master
Reaction score
My guess is the boar is trying to protect his girls. I'm not sure is doe is another term for a female pig, but I have only ever heard sow. Anyways, sorry I can't be of anymore help(I have only had pigs for a few months). But you should definitely post pics of the pigs and babies.

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
A female pig that has been bred is a sow, if they have not the term is gilt. I would stress that you should be careful, pigs can be dangerous and aggressive. He could be doing it for show to try to intimidate you or he could be truly aggressive.

I don't feel comfortable giving advice without seeing what he is doing or at least knowing more about it. Boars get aggressive when they are with a sow in heat. If pigs are generally aggressive and there isn't a good cause for it, we eat them. I don't do aggressive pigs.

My pot belly was far more aggressive than my farm pigs are.

I would be curious how he behaves away from the girls?

ETA: please could you tell us what he is doing that is making you uncomfortable? Pigs do have some behaviors that look like they're being unfriendly but they're just being pigs!

B3NZ0

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I wrote sows but my auto correct changed it. The sow that recently gave birth is separated from the rest bring I'm getting her health and weigh up may have something to do with it.

Attachments

• 20160903_152333.jpg
    20160903_152333.jpg
    202.4 KB · Views: 281

B3NZ0

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score