Donkeys as Livestock Guardians

CESpeed

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hi,

I've read a couple of threads about this and I'm feeling the idea of having a donkey as a livestock guardian. I guess my biggest question would be which animals would they be appropriate for?

I'm planning to have cows and pigs and recently decided sheep would be a fun animal to have as well. I've read that donkeys are ok with cows but what about pigs and sheep

Thank you!

Tuesday

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
While I'm no expert on donkeys I did recently buy one to guard my sheep. She does a good job of it. Since they naturally dislike dogs she has chased my own dogs out of the pasture before. So I'm pretty happy with her. She's even been gentle with my lambs. Donkeys are very low key and not nearly as flighty as horses I've noticed. I decided on a donkey instead of an alpaca so I wouldn't have to shear it since I have hair sheep that shed and no need for shearers :) Plus I hear they can be comical. If you do get a donkey make sure you don't buy a jack they can be too aggressive and hurt your other animals and don't buy a mini to use as a guardian; they are too small to protect anything.

Rocco

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
We have a standard-sized spotted jenny in a pasture with about 30 goats - does and kids. I have seen her chase feral cats, a bobcat, deer, our guineas, and she once killed a fox.

To be totally honest though, she does make me nervous at kidding time. We do keep kids penned with their dams for about a week, and she usually checks them out through the fence getting nose to nose with them. But, during cool weather she can get energetic and likes to run...including running/herding the goats. For the big Boer girls with her that is no problem. For the smaller kids and the Myotonic goats it is more of a problem. She ran down one buckling a couple of years back and broke his leg - he healed just fine, fortunately.