Dorper/Katahdin cross sheep in VA

NicelyMeadows

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Looking for someone else who has them in VA. I live close to the WV Line just outside of Roanoke, VA.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. I’m in Texas and have Dorper/Katahdin cross ewes with a registered Katahdin ram. My ram was bred by Virginia Tech University in their parasite resistance program. Glad to have you here!

NicelyMeadows

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Thank You! I'm new to this breed... and sheep in general. I posted a while back in the welcome section about it. I used to deliver fuel oil and gas to VT, at all of their farm locations. It was always a fun day to go to the farm. Even got to see the "pardoned" presidential turkeys and pet them.

I received our first ewe from a friend of mine that breeds these on the side from his day job as a local deputy. We had 2 twin goats we had purchased and the boy had to be put down. I called him up to see if I could buy one of his sheep to put with my goat for companionship till I could find another.

1 turned into 2, which my "toddler" is a bottle baby. She was a triplet that was not able to compete with her siblings. He called and asked if I wanted her...... Of course!

She wasn't able to go outside yet when my other goat passed suddenly so I then called him up again to ask if I could get another. He called and asked if I wanted 2 more bottle babies.

Mother was pregnant and never produced a milk bag, didn't even appear to be be pregnant, and then... here is 2 babies on the ground.

Both males this time!

I want to get into breeding them and selling also. It's been really fun so far.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Why did your goats die? They may have had a high worm load. Barber pole worms attach to the intestinal wall and suck blood. An animal can get so anemic that they lay down and die. Sheep will do this too. Talk to your friend and ask him what he does for worms.

NicelyMeadows