Electric Net Q's from the noob.

Scooby308

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Ok, uber noob here. I spent my summers on my grandfathers horse farmshow horses and nothing else. I have been planning on starting a homestead (serious planning) for about 5 years (thinking about being a pioneer since I was a kid, lol). I am seriously going to give it a go.

We bought a small piece of land 5 years ago and it has sat pretty much dormant until this last winter when we started cleaning it up.

If you read my introduction post you know some of what I have to work with:
11+ acres of pasture (good pasture).
4+- acres of hardwoods.
Access to 200+- acres of hardwoods.
Small pond.
No fence (well not a good one).

I am starting with chickens but will move to Nubian (and maybe a few Boer) goats. Then add in American Guinea Hogs and rabbits. Hopefully all up and running by August 2013.

My questions are on Electric Net Fence:
I am looking at the poultry net for all the fencing needs. I have been told netting wont work, netting will work, you cant use solar because it isnt strong enough, you can use a solar charger if it has enough joules.
I am asking what your experiences are with net fencing and what (if any) solar charger would work?

Thanks in advance,
Christopher

chubbydog811

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Regular sheep/goat netting is GREAT. The chicken netting has more wire, and will be harder to keep a large area hot unless you have a super awesome charger...Males and babies aren't good with the goat netting though, because typically they will run right through it, hot or not. They require a more permanent/solid fence line. Maybe use the chicken netting for the kids? Boys (mainly intact) still need a solid fence, especially to avoid "oopsie" breedings.