Evil Mini Rex! Did I do something wrong?

4-H forever!<3

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hello! I have been raising a small herd of 6 rabbits for two years now. My first rabbit was a Mini Rex and I never did anything to anger him. I handled him, fed him treats, and even took him for walks outside every day. I showed him when he was younger, but when he turned about eight months old, he started to become really mean. He bites me any chance he gets and he would charge my leg and latch onto it with his teeth. He is the meanest animal I have ever seen and he only likes my dad. However, he sometimes bites my dad as well. I know I can't fix it because he's about three years old now, but I don't have the heart to send him to the meat pen. Here's my main question: Is it a mental problem, or did I do something to cause this? Any help would be appreciated.:hit

secuono

Herd Master
Reaction score
Is he near females or other males? Can you neuter him?
Does he go after you all the time or just around food, his cage or other things that are his?
Have you tried to just sit there and lay your arm in the cage and not move or talk? Just let him get used to you again?

4-H forever!<3

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
No,he is not near females. We moved his cage so he would be away from them. He was also mean before I got females. I have talked to other people about this and they said its not worth neutering him because he may not survive surgery, and neutering may not even help. He will attack me for no reason wether its food, his cage, or, when I let him out to play, I will just walk by and sometimes he will attack, and sometimes he won't. One time i did leave my arm in the cage to feed him and he bit my jacket. He would not let go either, he was hanging in the air from my sleeve and had to try pretty hard to rip him off. I've been told by some people that it might be a brain dysfunction, but I just wanted to hear other people's opinions.

secuono

Herd Master