Ewe with sore mouth?

Parsnip

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
OKAY, so here's the story.

I just got two new ewes about 3 weeks ago.
The lady I got them from said they had JUST recovered from sore mouth.
She said she separated them from the rest of the herd for about a month until the sores were GONE. Fallen off, and gone.
(I have been talking to this lady for about 6 months, so I trust her word)

One of my ewe lambs seems to have sore mouth again?
Just in the past few days I've noticed the corners of her mouth are red and have very small brown-ish scabs on them?
It's very small, but she is white and the dark red corners on her mouth are easy to notice.

I just noticed a few days ago, so I'm not sure separating her from my other 4 sheep will do any good right now.
Although, they are not showing any signs of sore mouth? Yet?

I thought once they had it, they could never get it again???
I'm confused.

Can they get it again?

alsea1

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
oh No.
Soremouth is a zoonotic disease meaning animals can transmit it to humans. As many physicians may be unfamiliar with the disease, be sure to tell your doctor if you've been exposed to infected or recently vaccinated sheep or goats.

As with any disease there are some animals that can be chronic carriers.
Carrier or chronically-infected animals may also serve as reservoirs for infection.

However, there are different strains of soremouth, and it is possible for previously infected animals to become infected with soremouth more than once in their lifetimes. Infections usually occur several years apart and repeat infections tend to be less severe.