Farrier Thread

ducks4you

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
How many farriers have you had over the years? :/ Including my SD farrier, that I only see every 5 years or so, I have had 5 farriers over 25 years. (I was hijacking another thread, so I'm starting this one.) to quote myself :D In case you didn't read it, I NOW have an Amish farrier, that I have been doing business with for about 4 years. I got so tired of losing my farrier every few years. They would quit because of a bad back, or go to a different job--I wanted someone who would keep at it as long as I kept my horses. I paid them all on time, no bounced checks, And, my horses are ALL good with their feet!! ...go figure...
After a year of my DD and I both working on one foot at a time (I TOLD you my horses were GOOD with their feet!)--how many of us does it really take to "change a lightbulb" :lol: --it was nice to find a man who wanted to make this his lifetime career.

Anybody else want to chime in with their thoughts or stories? :caf

meme

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I had two for the horse we had for two years.:celebrate:love

patandchickens

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I have lived so many different places in the past 25 years, I don't think I can *count* how many farriers I've used.

IMO the hardest thing about moving to a new area is usually finding a good farrier. The lousy ones far far outnumber the good ones, if you ask me -- and by "good" I mean "not harming the horse" -- and while a good vet is hard to find TOO, at least you can go elsewhere on the rare occasions you need better vet help, whereas you need a good farrier every 6 weeks forever :p