feeding an orphaned foal ??

Jae~b

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have a 6 week old Drum foal (colt) that lost his dam to founder on thursday. The little guy easily pail trained to foal milk replacer and foal milk pellets. He seems to be thriving, gaining weight, curious, everything you want in a foal. I have read so much conflicting information about when to remove the milk . Most of the information I've been given or read says 6-8 weeks, vet says 12-16 weeks. He is a draft breed. Does anybody here have any experience with hand raised foals? Any tips or advice is welcome.

I'll post pics of the cute little booger when I upload

haviris

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I have no experience w/ orphaned foals, but I would not take milk away until atleast 3 months (and probably longer).

goodhors

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I would go with a bit longer, if he does not develop problems with his poop, and is eating other foods. I know folks wean foals at 3 months, foals do fine. However with him being a larger breed, he may need more time and the added nutrition.

I do not want fat foals, like to see a shadow of ribs showing when he turns. Fat is too much weight on young, soft bones that are just developing. He has a very long way to go before being mature, probably close to 7 years. Like obesity in kids, fat young horses are not what you want. This is DESPITE the advertising photos of fat horses in feed ads.

The TRIM young horse grows slower but steadily, not overloading any body parts. His genetics will tell the body when to stop, without tons of extra supplements and large daily helpings of grain and special "growth, young horse" feeds.