Goat beginner here, need help, non emergency

CochinBrahmaLover=)

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
So im not sure if this is the right section, but i need help. My mom MIGHT get me a goat (yippee) and I need to know EVERYTHING! what to feed them, if tey need suppelments, EVERYTHING! So, help!!!!

I dont know what BREED, other then i want a friendly goat, I dont think we can sell the milk and we dont like it, so i don care much for it

Should i get a kid or adult? And should i get a wether or doe? (i dont care what you say im not getting a buck....wether is like a castrated buck, right?)

I feel so dumb :gig :hide

that's*satyrical

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
First off, you would need 2 not 1. Goats are herd animals. And, yes, you would want 2 does, 2 wethers, or a doe & a wether. Goats like to browse which means they prefer reaching into bushes & low branches of trees to eat rather than grazing on grass. They will probably need hay unless you have a lot of browse. They may or may not need grain if you are keeping dry does & wethers. They will need loose minerals & access to fresh clean water.

elevan

Critter Addict ♥
Reaction score

Catahoula

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Check out the Frequently Asked Questions on the top of the Index page of the Forum Main. Many of your questions are answered there. There are also additional information such as fencing, shelter or emergency kit to keep on hands for your new pets. Knowing the basic care and recognizing illnesses and what to do are also part of raising goats.