Goat hand milking machine, anybody?

dwbonfire

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Hey yall! I got my two Nubian does this week and i have been trying to milk. I say trying because they havent been hand milked in a long time so they aren't thrilled about it. And also I am new to milking so I'm slow. Recipe for disaster right!? Well with all the kicking and what not, and not being sure when the girls are actually done and empty, I decided I need to get an inexpensive milking machine/system. I have found the underlay EZ milker, and also the Dansha hand milker. I have watched some videos and read reviews and thought the Dansha system seemed better. Has anyone used either of these systems or know of others? Thanks!

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score
I haven't used them but have been researching them this week so funny you should post. I have a real machine but it is in my old barn and a pain for only a few goats so I was looking at another option. I am building a dairy so obviously this is only a stop gap right now.

I like the inflations on the EZ milker, and I like no tubing to clean. But some of the complaints about it was that the handle on the pump breaks, as does the piece that holds the bottle to the pump; also the bottles aren't dishwasher safe. These were older reviews so not sure if those are still valid.

I don't want to clean tubing. While you can run water through it I would rather run a brush of something through it to feel like it is really clean. Milk builds up a milk stone after a while and no way to remove it unless you can scrub, but I guess new tubing would be cheap enough.

My biggest hesitation about any of them is the constant suction that it puts on the teats. There used to be many posts online about that being bad for the goat but I am not convinced one way or the other and I have seen no real proof of that.

There are other milkers. There is a Henry Milker and a Maggie Dans milker but they are all similar.