Goat not putting hoof down

Capri

Just born
Reaction score
Daisy is a rescue goat. She is extremely underweight. I've had her since Friday March 3 2017. The first 2 days here she refused to eat and lost what little weight she had. By the end of that first weekend we decided to go to the vet if she made it through the night. By some miracle she was up and walking and very hungry that Monday morning. We did not go to the vet. We got calf mana and goat supplements and she started doing well. Then my daughter (9), trying to help decided that because Daisy is skinny she needed more food and overloaded her on grain. I've spent my day's in the goat pen with pro biotics and baking soda since them getting her already weak system back on track. Thank God she's almost normal again. But this is my first time having goats. I'm learning as I go. Yesterday morning Daisy was walking funny. I took a pic and sent it to a vet and they said possible nerve damage. I'm not finding much information on line. Has anyone else ever dealt with this? Dose anyone have any suggestions? I'll try to post the pictures.
KIMG0006.JPG
KIMG0005.JPG

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Greetings and welcome to BYH. Sorry you're going through issue after issue with your rescue goat. I'll tag a few goat pros who may be able to help

I don't think "nerve damage" would happen "overnight"... I would suspect that she has stepped on something and may have a splinter or some other damage to her hoof. It's possible that she may have tripped and sprained it or something but it doesn't appear to have any real swelling @ the joint... I'm sorry but the picture is too blurry to really make anything out. Have you inspected the hoof up close and personal? It may be that she simply needs a hoof trim... It may be uncomfortable for her to walk on it if the hoof is overgrown. It could also be a bacterial infection of the hoof.