Goat Rolling her neck around - just playing?

winterduchess

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have a 6 month old baby who seems healthy in every way. She has plenty of energy, eats just fine, and is obnoxiously loud when she wants attention. Her and her mother are the first goats I've ever had, so I'm brand new at all of this.

The only thing mildly concerning me right now is a behavior that she has, that I haven't seen from the mother. The baby ("Chaos" is her name, and it's very appropriate) will frequently roll her head back, in a circle, far enough back that the top of her head almost touches her shoulders. I know that this can be a very scary symptoms in young goats, who are lethargic and not holding on to life too well. But Chaos is otherwise quite healthy-seeming. She will do it quickly, much like a human will roll their head and neck around to stretch it, or as if she is sniffing a large circle in the sky. She does it very frequently - whenever I'm around her, she'll do it every few minutes. It almost seems like she's just being goofy, either amusing herself by looking at things upside-down, or purposefully making herself dizzy. And I "think" she does it only when people are out with her - when I've spied on her from inside the house, I haven't noticed her doing it. That would make me think she's just being a weirdo, or trying to get attention from the humans. But, I am worried that maybe she does do it even when I'm not around, and that it's a symptom of something.

Any opinions? Anyone else notice their goats doing it? If I had seen Momma goat doing it too I would just assume it's a normal goat behavior, but so far I've only noticed it from Chaos.

Thanks!

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
I have a goat that rolls her head often when I'm out. Her sire does it too. So unless there are some other symptoms that would indicate an illness, it is probably just something that she does.

Livinwright Farm

Goat Fancier
Reaction score