Goat won't grow

Reaction score
:)Hello! I'm new to backyard herds so I'm not sure how to post and all but anyway, I have a Pygmy goat about 4 months old that was given to me, he was given to me at 2 months of age but he doesn't seem to grow at all, his belly is always huge and he seems really skinny, I don't have a vet that treats goats anywhere near me but I've gotten advice from a nearby goat owner and she told me it could be worms and so I wormed him and I'm not sure how long it takes to see a difference but it's been 3 weeks and I see no difference, he eats lots of hay and a bit of grain every day but doesn't seem to gain weight or lose the big belly, or even grow at all, he is a wether btw. Please help ASAP thank you in advance! Edit: he isn't my Only goat, I have 4 more beside him and they all seem fine, I even have a bottle baby Nigerian dwarf about 8 weeks old and he's bigger than him!

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
I have a buckling that had somewhat of an issue with worms and is also a super slow grower. Also, he gets "hay belly" more than my other goats. You can always tell when he just ate a bunch of hay because he gets huge. But it goes back down as he digests. It freaked me out at first.

Oh and welcome to BYH! There is a ton of information on here about parasites and dewormers so browse around a bit and you'll find a lot!

Mini Horses

Herd Master
Reaction score
I find that most animals with a heavy worm load show it in many ways......poor coat, less lively, pale eyelids, etc. So, how are these issues with yours? In horses, low protein can create a thin topline & bloated look, some other animals will, also. This speaks to not simply amount of pasture/hay but quality stats. Lastly, if a worm load, you may do well getting a fecal to decide what type of issues you are facing, if any.

I know, many suggestions and no real answer. But, gotta start somewhere.

Reaction score
Can you post a picture of him and the Nigerian bottle baby?