Goats and Turkeys sharing pasture?

Amaggio

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to turkeys and goats but I'm playing around with the idea of having them share pasture. I know housing chickens and turkeys together can come with its own challenges, such as them sharing diseases, especially Histomoniasis/Blackhead. Then I had this idea that perhaps I could have my turkeys and goats share pasture, since goats like weeds and turkeys like grass. Does anyone know if something like this would work? I wouldn't think they could share diseases and having turkeys and maybe even a few guineas with the goats would protect them from the tick population in the area. I could also rotate the turkey's pasture ahead of or behind the goats, similarly to what others have done in order to have goats and sheep share pastures. My biggest concern is that perhaps the goats would get aggressive with the turkeys but if they were around fowl from a young age maybe it wouldn't be a problem?

PS: I am also posting this question on the sister site Backyard Chickens but wanted to get some experienced goat owner's opinions.

Thank you in advance. :)

farmerjan

Herd Master
Reaction score