Goats on a Dry Lot

pattyjean73

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am new to goats. I have 3 small breed goats. One is a Nigerian dwarf and the other two are mixed breeds. They are mostly just pets, but I was hoping to breed and milk them in the future. They have an 8x12 shed and a 30x60 paddock that they stay in. When we are outside and able to watch them we let them out to graze on our 1.5 acre lot. They get all they hay that they want and they share a 32 oz cup of grain once a day. They occasionally get animal crackers, oats, barley, or BOSS as a treat. I've only had them a few months and have already had to de-worm them three times. The vet suggested that I put them on a regular de-worming program every 6 - 8 weeks. She suggested rotating different kinds of dewormer. Here are my questions:
1. What kind of rotating deworming program are you guys/gals using?
2. What are other, more natural types of dewormers?
3. If I'm deworming every 6 - 8 weeks, is there any hope of ever milking them?

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
You would not want to worm regularly on a schedule, only as needed.

You've already had to worm them 3 times in 3 months?

What kind of worms and what are the eggs per gram counts?

pattyjean73

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
You would not want to worm regularly on a schedule, only as needed.

You've already had to worm them 3 times in 3 months?

What kind of worms and what are the eggs per gram counts?

No, I've had them roughly 6 months now. I know barber pole worms but the vet didn't go into detail. She only said that they were mildly wormy and needed to be treated again. She recommended that I put them on a regular routine of deworming since they are on a dry lot.

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
Someone else will have to weigh in on what to use for barber poles and what epg count you should worm because fortunately, I've never had to deal with them.