Hay for goats

Teresa R

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I'm new to goats and need to buy hay for my goats for the winter. What kind of hay do goats eat? All the hay I find say horse or cow hay. I bought a bale from a local feed store and the goats won't eat it .

lalabugs

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
What are your hay options? Do you know the type of hay you bought?
Where I am at we can get alfalfa, 3 way, and sometimes we can get teff & bermuda. Teff and bermuda are harder to get year round.

Teresa R

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Prarie grass and Bermuda is what I have found . There are a few places I can get alfalfa . I'm not sure of vthe hay I got at the feed store. They weren't very helpful that day. I just bought 1 bale to try luckily. I'm just using it for my chickens nesting boxes so it's not wasted . Lol

lalabugs

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I am not sure what Prarie grass is. I googled it. It looks like most have good reviews about it. Not sure if anyone has experience with it. @Goat Whisperer @Green Acres Farm @Latestarter

If you can find a good quality grass hay I would feed that before alfalfa. Good quality is horse hay. I only buy horse quality hay. Alfalfa is what is most readily available here. The goats LOVE it. However they waste A LOT! They only eat the fine stem and leaf. Leaving the rest, roughly 1/2 the bale. My goats will snub any grass hay and refuse to eat it. They refuse grass hay because they're spoiled to alfalfa.

greybeard

Herd Master
Reaction score
Prairie grass in North Texas thru Oklahoma can be just about anything.it usually just means a combination of mostly native grasses. Gama, brome, native bluestems, Indian grass, switchgrass etc. Usually lower in nutrition than the improved grasses, but hey, they're 100% natural and organic, GMO free, endophyte free and naturally, 'free ranging' so they can't be too bad. ;)