Hello from Floresville, TX. :)

Newgoatmom

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Hi! I am very new to any sort of herd animal and decided I need a good source of information. I used to spend a lot of time on backyard chickens so knew this was just the place to go.

I currently just have two precious little girl goats. Anabelle is about 5 months old and 3/4 Boer 1/4 Spanish. Eliza is about 7 months old and 3/4 Nubian and 1/4 Nigerian Dwarf. She is going to be my milk girl though I plan to try milking Anabelle, as well, and see how it goes. I had no clue how wonderful and addictive goats are. I want more! Lol These had neither been handled much when I got them and I am working toward building their trust. I am just getting them to where they will let me reach under and rub their bellies so they should be used to the idea by the time they are old enough to breed and milk.

A bit more about me, I am a single mom of 4 boys ages 19, 17, 15, and 6. We try to stretch our one acre to provide as much as possible with planting, chickens and ducks, and now the goats. I work nights so keep a pretty odd schedule and you never know when I will be on here reading and learning as I go along.

Thanks for reading! I can't wait to get to know the people here and learn from all the knowledgeable people on this site!

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score