Help me understand Pinkeye, Chlamydia, Abortion, et al.

shepherdO

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I'm in my second year of the sheep game, and this year I have 8 pregnant ewes. All took with first cycle exposure to my young (now 9 months) ram - yes! They were all bred between Sept 30 and Oct. 21st, making them between and 3.5 - 6.5 weeks pregnant at the moment.

However, one of my ewes had some gooey eyes a couple of weeks ago. I separated her immediately (I think withn 24 hours - possibly a little less/more?) and have been watching her closely - it wasn't very noticeable at first, so I believe I got her early.

I've been reading and researching pinkeye/conjunctivitis, chlamydial conjunctivitis, etc. and am confused - please help me if you can!

My ewes do share a hay 'trough' (I made it similar to Premier one where the hay falls/is pulled through the 4x4 inch wire panel) and some of the hay they've been getting lately is rough, so of course they stick their heads into the hay and she could quite easily have poked herself in the eye, inviting a subsequent eye infection. From what I've read, this could be some version of chlamydia, correct?

My question is this: If this is indeed a chlamydia infection, is is the SAME 'chlamydia' strain (not sure if that's the correct word) that causes 'chlamydial abortions'? Ie, if this was purely an infection caused by a poke in the eye, does that mean that this simple eye infection could pose abortion problems in my flock at some point?

It seems crazy that an eye infection could do this... or are there many strains/versions of chlamydia, and the eye infection, if is IS chlamydial, may be a more benign infection that affects the eye only?