HELP...w/ graphic / gross pic...beware

Roll farms

Spot Master
Reaction score
I got a call from a friend w/ a sick goat last week, she described symptoms that *sounded* like bloat at the time...swollen belly, off feed, and said he'd gotten into the hog's feed pan, which had cauliflower in it.
I suggested a few things, and she said he did improve.

She called again on Thurs. night, said he was sick again, and his "butt was all swollen / pushed out"...sounded like a prolapse to me, so I told her to call her vet ASAP the next morning.

I called today to check and she says the vet thinks it's CL, which sounds like a wayyy off diagnosis to me for a swollen butt.

I just went by there to take a look / offer moral support, and folks, I've been raising goats for 15 years and I've NEVER seen anything like this.

peanutbutt.jpg

The only other suggestion he had was a twisted intestine...but still...how would that spread all the way out to the tail web and make IT double it's normal size???
The flesh on his entire rump feels bloated / swollen, on both sides of his tail as well. He's got a low-grade temp but nothing else obvious.
You know how an ankle looks / feels when it's sprained? The flesh feels tight and bloated? From his withers back he feels like that....but his belly isn't bloated.
He's 6 mos old, of good size / condition, etc...Somewhat lethargic and puny acting now.
He hasn't pooped in at least 2 days (they said) but, he's also not the least bit interested in food / water, either.
He's leaking blood from his rectum and some clear fluid.

I think, by how he was acting, he's too far gone to help but I would like to know if any of you have seen a tail look like this.
The vet has him on antibiotics and banamine for pain / swelling.

Thoughts?

trestlecreek

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Well, could be a number of things!!
Sounds like he is trying to pass something for sure. Maybe "hardware"?
Also, could have gotten strung back there which is causing the edema?