Help with adopted goat

JuliannaPower

Just born
Reaction score
Hey guys!

So my husband and I just moved into our new home and it came with a goat! We actually included keeping the goat on the property in the offer because he’s just too cool. Anyway, I have limited goat experience and I have a couple questions I’m hoping someone can help me with. Gene (the goat) has lived alone on this property for at least 5 years, he has about a half acre to himself. He clearly hasn’t really been socialized as it took him a while to let me pet him, but now he come up to the gate to say hi. We want to get him a friend or two but I’m not sure if it would go over well. Any suggestions? Does Gene just want to continue to be a solo goat or could we introduce a couple friends into his pen?

Alibo

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Definitely a friend! A wether (castrated male goat) would be a good start to your new addiction ;)

Sharyl

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Goats are herd animals so a friend would be a great idea! Otherwise you will need to spend a lot of time out with him, and become part of his herd. I have one goat that is a loner but is unhappy when actually alone. She doesn't socialize with the other goats in her pen, much, but if she is in a separate pen, she gets really depressed. She doesn't like to share, food, attention, shelter, so we had to put two shelters in the pen as well as three different feeding areas but it is worth it for her to be happy.
Goats are wonderful pets! Enjoy Gene!! :)

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
It really depends. Is he intact? Is he a wether?
Goats in general are herd animals and need a buddy. However many keep bucks in their own pens because they don't always get along. Much is how they are raised from the onset.
WE had a buck that could go with no one else or he'd kill it. Whereas all our other bucks live peacefully together.