Hi I’m new to breeding rabbits and I have a few questions

Sophierabbit

Just born
Reaction score
Hi there everyone I’m new here

I have two pet rabbits, one male and one female. They are mixed breed and about 5 months old,
I wanted to breed them before I get them fixed. Today I put them together for an hour to see what happened, the female was willing to mate and the male had about 6 fall offs with loud grunts. They are currently living in separate pens and are doing well. Here’s my questions:

Will she definitely be pregnant?

Do I need to put them together again? And what will happen if they breed again while she’s pregnant?

What should I feed the female now she’s pregnant? She currently eats unlimited Timothy hay, 1/4 cup of alfalfa pellets and a cup of veggies (usually collard greens and romaine lettuce).

Should I breed them again on day fourteen to be sure she’s pregnant? I’ve heard this is dangerous though, what do you guys think?

It will be her first litter, is they’re anything bad that might happen that I should be prepared for?

thanks to everyone who reads this and answers my questions :)

Alasgun

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Welcome, i’m no pro but it sounds to me like you’ve got it covered! After a half dozen “fall offs” id bet you’ll be in the rabbit business in a month!
All i’d add is be prepared with a nest box/ materials 2-3 days before her due date.

Ridgetop

Herd Master
Reaction score
No need to change her diet or add anything else. After she kindles (has babies) you will need to gradually increase her food to help with her lactation. When the bunnies come out of the nest box, add some for them, gradually increasing the amounts until at 8 weeks you are feeding the adult amount for the number of rabbits in the cage.

BTW, don't worry if you don't see her in the nest box with the babies during the day. Most rabbits only nurse at night. It is a way of protecting the nest from predators.