Hive Question

wildthingsfarm

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I went out to check my hive recently and it seems to be silent :( There are bits of comb on the ground outside the hive entrance. Any ideas what causes this? This is my first year wintering a hive, so I'm not too sure what I'm doing! But I really loved my bees, I hope they're not gone!

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
First, greetings @wildthingsfarm from the front range in Colorado. Welcome to BYH. I had 2 hives the beginning of last summer and lost one early then the other some time the past month or so. I have no idea where you're located so don't know your weather/temps. If it gets above 40f and the sun is shining and there's no wind, you can pop the top and peek under the inner cover to see what's going on. Also, under those circumstances, there should be bees doing cleansing flights then returning to the hive. Comb on the ground outside makes me think mice. I hope you have the entrance reducer in and the entry screened with hardware cloth to keep mice out.

wildthingsfarm

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Thanks for the info @laterstarter! I'm in Indiana and we've had a pretty cold winter. This weekend, temps are spiking, so I'll take advantage and peak in the hive. Fingers crossed, but not too hopeful.

Latestarter

Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Well, let us know what you find, good or bad. I well know the feeling of losing hives. I'll try again next time I'm set up and ready. Moving this summer so may try to catch a swarm after moving, but otherwise, will be next year I guess.

Latestarter

Golden Herd Member
Reaction score