Housing at county fairs

curious alpaca4

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hey, I am new to alpacas and want to train one for 4-H. Currently no one in my area has ever brought a lama to the county fair, leaving me with no choice but to house the alpacas in one of the other barns. They can not be tied (for the safety factor of them freaking out, the halter slipping off the nose bone, and killing them) so that leaves the sheep barn, goat barn, and horse barn. The person I am leasing the alpaca from says they can get diseases from sheep and goats. I don't want to endanger their alpacas. Which barn would you reccommend and why? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Wow, that's a tough one... I'd contact your local 4H or FFA representative and see if they can direct you. You could also contact the fair/show administrator to see what arrangements they can make. You could also ask the owners what THEY would suggest... Another possible option would be to contact the camelid dept at your nearest zoo... Based on what you shared, I'd say the horse barn looks like the only viable option. But I have no idea, just trying to offer ideas.

curious alpaca4

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I emailed my 4-H event coordinator and she is going to meet with the fair board sometime this month. She is going to email me back after the meeting. I am just seeing where all the experianced people would house the alpacas and/or where the lamas are housed at other county fairs.

purplequeenvt

Herd Master
Reaction score
I don't know what your person is talking about when she (he?) says that sheep and goats "give lamas diseases". I'm sure there are some diseases/parasites that can be contagious between the species, but nothing common that I've ever heard of.