housing meat rabbits

Blue Skys

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have been doing searches, looking at plans and racking my brain about housing for the meat rabbits I plan to get. Will y'all share your set-ups with me. I've not found much on housing the kits, once they are weaned (I don't know if they would still be called kits if they are weaned, but I'm new at this, and I'm sure you get my point), but still need to be grown out before slaughter. Can they be housed together, or do they need to be kept seperate? I've been thinking about getting californians, what size would the area need to be, I've seen 3x3 per rabbit, is that enough space?

currycomb

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
hubby made a wonderful hutch just for growing out our meat rabbits. it is about 2ft deep and 5ft long and 21/2 foot tall in front down to 2ft tall in back and stands 3ft off the ground. legs are landscape timbers, 2x4's and different wire and a metal roof with a solid plywood door. we have had 10 4lb rabbits at one time, 2 lg feeders and a gallon sized chicken waterer and fee choice hay. they buddied up and grew well. :D

()relics

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
The answers will depend on how many breeding rabbits you will have and how much time everyday you have set aside for chores. cage size depends on the age of the rabbit. As they grow they will need more room and males and females will have to be seperated. With some math and a written down breeding schedule you will see that you can be overloaded with rabbits quickly with not that many breeders.

Blue Skys

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
currycomb said: