How big are newborn goats?

Sunny & the 5 egg layers

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I was wondering roughly how big newborn goat kids are? This includes their weight for a miniature goat (such as Nigerian Dwarf), Standard size (such as alpine), and a bigger breed (such as a boer)? Maybe like the size of a small dog? Also, would you say they are about a foot long, or shorter? I am getting prepared for when I own goats and I am actually knitting goat sweaters to put away in my goat kit. (Call me crazy)! :weee
Thanks in advance. :)

SmallFarmGirl

Smiley Crazy
Reaction score
Well great job preparing !! I can't A your Q .. But I have to say GOOD LUCK !! :weee

P.S. Your not crazy .. Your called a well prepared person !! Some people aren't !! :thumbsup

SheepGirl

Master of Sheep
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
I'm no expert on goats, but I assume they would be 7-10 lbs at birth. Some may be heavier, some may be lighter. But that's what our lambs are born at.

20kidsonhill

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
boer goats any where from 4 or 5 lbs to hopefully closer to 10 or 12 lbs with the average being more around 8 or 9 lbs.

Stacykins

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
If boer goats are 4-5lbs, than nigerians must be teeeeeeny when newborn!

Sunny & the 5 egg layers

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Oh wow! 4-5 pounds is really tiny! I think I may need to make some smaller sweaters... :lol:
The sweater pattern that I am going by is made for a small dog. I have never seen a baby goat in person so I am just trying to imagine how big they are.
If the sweater fits a chihuahua then will it most likely fit a newborn goat kid?
Thank you all for your input this far! I appriciate it! :)

RPC

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score