How do I know???

jenn

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am new to this and we bought/rescued 2 ewes and once we got them sheered last weekend we found out for sure they are preg!! Well one is due soon and the other in about 2 weeks. My question is how do you know when she is going to have it?? She isn't eating any corn just occasionally munches on hay. She hasn't eaten ALL day!! No interest in it. Shes moving around the penned in area but kinda slowly. She comes up to me about as much as she always does but is she really close?? Is this normal???

My gosh this is nerve racking!! :hu :barnie

Beekissed

Herd Master
Reaction score
Here are some links that might help?

http://www.sheep101.info/201/lambingprocess.html

http://www.ukagriculture.com/livestock/sheep_lambing.cfm

And an article:

How do I know when a ewe is ready to lamb?
No two ewes manifest the same signs. Some wander off to a far corner
of a pasture, or find a corner of the barn. Some will go off food.
Most will `drop' as the position of the uterus shifts lower in their
bodies, and hollow areas appear in their flanks; this is sometimes
hard to see in older ewes, who are `dropped' most of the time. Ewes
usually `bag out' as milk develops in the udder within a day or two of
lambing. As the ewe goes into labor, she may paw the ground as if
digging a nest, and is often restless, getting up, circling or moving
to a new spot, lying down, and repeating the cycle. As she moves
further into labor, you can see contractions, the water (amnion) will
often break, and she may grit her teeth in pain.

jenn

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Wow--

I have been searching the internet for information and then POP there it is!!!