How long to harvest?

ChrisM

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hi folks.
I'm rather new to this and am trying to find info on expected time to harvest.
I see a bunch of info for project and commercial hogs but nothing for the backyard guy NOT feeding specially formulated feed.
Is there a chart that I can follow that will help me plan on harvest date?

Last edited:

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
Doesn't matter if you are commercial or backyard

Depends on the breed of pig and how you feed the pig and the weight you want to harvest

A pure breed heritage big will not grow as fast as a commercial type hybrid

If they are on pasture and you want to raise them more off of the land and things from your garden and acorns and such they are not going to grow as fast as in a pen with pig
Feed

Doesnt matter if it's a specially formulated feed or just a pig feed from your local mill

ChrisM

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Thank you for the reply.
I'm trying to figure out my timing so that I can finish in Sept.- Oct. each year.
I plan on slaughtering at 250-300 lbs.
I plan on starting each grow with heritage cross gilt shoats.
They will be wooded in Oak forest and feed complete pellet ration, corn and barley.
Please advise on what month I should begin each grow.

SheepGirl

Master of Sheep
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
How much feed are you planning on giving them? The pellet is complete--which means it is properly balanced to provide the hog with all the nutrition it needs...no need to dilute it with corn or barley. Pigs need the right amounts of amino acids, particularly lysine (and I believe methionine as well but I may be mixing them up with chickens)... if you were to add corn and barley you would reduce the amino acids in the ration and they would become deficient and would grow even slower.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score