How Many Dogs Are Needed??

Dolly1218

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Im still doing my research on which breed is right (Anatolian Shepherd, Turkish Kangal, or Boz Shepherd) My questions are: How many LGDs will I need for a flock of about 8 goats, 8 sheep, and free range birds, the entire property is going to be about 80 acres? What kind of fencing do i need to keep the dogs enclosed on the pasture? Also how easy is it to incorporate more LGDs as my flock grows? Thank you all in advance!

77Herford

The Farm Zookeeper
Reaction score
If you kept them together I'd say 1 but Sheep and Goats need different levels of minerals. Maybe two dogs. I've found puppies are usually accepted more readily than adults into an already establish group and in any case must be done in steps.

It may take longer for some than other dogs to get used to a new member of the pack or they may never accept it. It should be known I'm still kinda new at LGD's.

Dolly1218

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
77Herford said:
If you kept them together I'd say 1 but Sheep and Goats need different levels of minerals. Maybe two dogs. I've found puppies are usually accepted more readily than adults into an already establish group and in any case must be done in steps.

It may take longer for some than other dogs to get used to a new member of the pack or they may never accept it. It should be known I'm still kinda new at LGD's.
Would 1 dog be able to handle watching all the animals on such a large acreage? We have coyote packs, cougars, bears, etc.. Can only 1 dog handle an entire coyote pack if needed?

peteyfoozer

Herd Master
Reaction score
It really is more dependent on your predator load than your number of livestock. We have cougars, bobcat, coyotes and other small predators, so I need 2 dogs, as one could not defend himself, much less a flock, well. With my two, one tends to stay with the flock while the other patrols, and is available to back him up if he gets in trouble.