How much grain do you give per day?

schmije

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I have a llama and two alpacas. We mix sweet feed (2 parts) with cleaned oats (1 part) as a treat for them. They also have free access to hay and pasture. I'm new to camelids, and I don't want to give them too much 'treat' feed. How much, and how often do you feed sweet feed/grain?

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
What are they used for? Are they breeders?

If they are not going to be used for breeding, then I would just give them like a cup a day of it. As long as they are in good condition, they don't need much grain. You could even not feed them grain if they are non-breeders.

goatboy1973

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I have a llama and two alpacas. We mix sweet feed (2 parts) with cleaned oats (1 part) as a treat for them. They also have free access to hay and pasture. I'm new to camelids, and I don't want to give them too much 'treat' feed. How much, and how often do you feed sweet feed/grain?
My llamas are so particular about what they eat as a treat. I have tried most all of the Purina horse treats, cantaloupe, watermelon, pumpkin, apple slices, tomato, cucumber...and other treats to try to tame them a bit. They won't touch anything but a coffee can full of sweet feed. Any suggestions???

purplequeenvt

Herd Master
Reaction score
Mine like carrots and apples mainly, but llamas can be really picky. How old are yours? I've found that younger animals often won't eat the treats. I think my youngest was around 5 before she was interested in them.

I had one llama who LOVED corn chips and that nasty fake yellow cheese.

trampledbygeese

Loving the herd life
Reaction score