How much to bottle feed baby Bucklings

Wisco55

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hi I am new to baby goats. I have 2 alpine/ Saanen bucklings that are 3 weeks old and 7 lbs. I am seeing many different opinions. A lot of people say 10% of there body weight? Any help is appreciated thanks

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
This is extremely underweight at 3 weeks for the breed you have. A nigerian would be underweight at that age.
How much are they taking now and how often do you feed?

Sounds like they are not getting fed enough and you may need to work your way up. At the age and breed they should take a minimum of 20oz 3x a day at this point. Having access to hay and some goat feed available.

They need 10% of their weight in colostrum the first 6-12 hours of birth. As far as feeding it is thought of 20%. However we don't feed that way. If you want an animal to grow and only base on the weight then there is no "extra" for them to grow.

Wehner Homestead

Herd Master
Reaction score
My LaMancha bottle babies came from SBC so we follow her recommendations. My girls are 6 weeks and over 20#. (They need weighed!) They control how much they want. We feed three times a day. Roughly 8am, 2-3pm, and 10pm. They each take at least a 20 oz bottle each feeding. One of our doelings was a single from a mature mother and sometimes she takes almost two 20 oz bottles in the morning or evening. Mine get to refuse the bottle three times before I assume that they are full. (Got that from @babsbag) We also let them out for extra exercise if they don’t seem to finish their 20oz base bottle and let them try again. They usually guzzle it then. We feed warmed whole cow’s milk.

Wisco55

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
This is extremely underweight at 3 weeks for the breed you have. A nigerian would be underweight at that age.