how to sex rabbits

kasey08

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I'm new to rabbits and was told that I had got 2 females one male. But to me it all looks the same can someone tell me how to tell? They are about 8 weeks and still living together. Do I need to separate? Dont really have the money right now due to the power outage in North Alabama. Had no work.

rickerra

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Sorry that you are out of power. Those storms were terrible... sorry for your loses.

Do a search on "how to sex a rabbit"... both here and on Google. I've read a number of informative sites explaining it and what you should see. They should be old enough to determine the sex.

I've read that beyond about 10 weeks old or so... you are risking the bunnies "feeling their oats" and a possible mating and/or fighting. 12 weeks seems to be the limit of what I've read folks will keep opposite sexes together and that's pushing it.

Best to find little "lucky" a cage of his own pretty soon.

Good luck!

hoodat

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
The buck in that picture is quite old. Seldom will the testicles be that visible on a younger buck but you can sometimes feel them by prodding gently with your finger.
On very young rabbits (less than three months), you will sometimes make a mistake when sexing but older than that you can be 90+ percent sure once you get some experience. The best way is to have an experienced breeder or your vet show you. It isn't too hard once you get the hang of it. BTW, not all vets know that much about rabbits; they're kind of an animal only some vets specialize in.

terri9630

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
hoodat said:
The buck in that picture is quite old. Seldom will the testicles be that visible on a younger buck but you can sometimes feel them by prodding gently with your finger.