how to tell if goat is pregnant

nstilwater

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I need to know how to tell if my goat is pregnant. i got a goat for free off craigslist in september. she was slightly skinny and when i picked her up the guy wouldt let us on his property. we didnt see any other goats and were told she lived with a donkey. we got her as a pet she is a mixed breed although we were told she was a lamancha..........definatly not! anyway......now she is extremely fat! i was looking for signs of heat since we got her and didnt notice any.....although i am new to owning goats! her abdomen now sticks out from her sides probably at least eight inches on both sides. i realize that goat bellys stick out but this is really far and she is not looking fat elsewhere. if she was bred in september then she would be due in february and she already looks like she has triplets in there. is there anyway to tell for sure if she is.....when would you be able to feel babies moving? it i possible there was a male on the property cause like i said the guy was real shady and wouldnt let us on property she wasnt properly cared for and i felt sorry or her so we took her anyway very happy now!

fortheloveofgoats

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
:welcome I am not sure on that, but I did the same mistake of buying a goat from someone on CL, it turned out to be a very bad idea. One thing that I can suggest, have her checked out by a vet. I didn't and thing's went from bad to worse with her. The guy didn't take care of her at all, and she was in bad shape. I hope that everything turns out well for you and her. Happy to hear that you got her out of a shady place. :fl:hugs

Queen Mum

N.E.R.D.
Reaction score
OK, you should do a number of things.

Get fecals done.
Make sure she has had shots. (You can give them yourself.) CD/T can be bought at the feedstore. 2.5 cc's
She needs a BoSe shot and some copper.