How to tell if shes preggers???

crazy4cochins

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
hello all! yep me again,ok so I am new to the goat farmers club and i need to know how to tell if shes preggers?
I noticed about 2ish to 3 ish months ago her bleating non stop at the neighbors soo is that a clue as to her maybe being in heat?
the current owners have no idea ,she in with a billy buck and a small pygmy maybe a buck. ok so looks like I need to also ask if he is a wether will he have "stuff" hanging down still?
I do remember seeing some dangelys. But as i said I am new and they are not on my property yet so I haven't really felt around on them, so if i put my hands on her belly can I feel it move around?
I know dogs and cats are like that.
I do know she had twins before but neither survived.

NubianNerd

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Wether=no dangleys. Unless he's really young and the bander hasn't made them fall off yet.
You will be able to see a change in her udder if this is her second time. It should get bigger. She will not go into heat again, a good way to check this is press down just above her tail, if she's in standing heat the tail will go up, tail down and running away if she isn't. You usually can't feel the babies for 3-4 months. If she was in with a buck, and is still in with a buck, I can practically guarantee babies, unless one of them is sterile.
Do you know why the babies died? Depending on the cause, there's a possibility that it may happen again.

bheila

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Yes, a wether can still have a sac. If they used a Burdizzo then he will still have a sac but be sterile ;)

crazy4cochins

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Ok good to tell the heat thing,does she bawl like other animals?