1. BYH Official Poll: What are the things that you should consider before buying herds?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

Dismiss Notice
  2. Rate this sheep's condition - Featured Thread
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice
  4. BYH Picture of the Week (POW) - Submit your Pics Now !!
    Click HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

I need help with how much to feed my donkey

Discussion in 'Feeding Time - Horses, Mules and Donkeys' started by FarmerBen, Nov 28, 2012.

1. Nov 28, 2012
    FarmerBen

FarmerBen Just born

I just got a 5 month old jenny donkey yesterday and I was wanting to know what exactly I should be feeding her and how much per day. She is one of the full size donkeys and not a mini. I have no donkey experience and any help is greatly appreciated. Weight wise she looks to be in the ideal range but once again that is coming from someone who doesn't really know. I'm just worried that I will founder her or something.

One of the guys at our local TSC told us to get a type of food for growth, I think the brand is molene, and some sweet feed.

Thanks

2. Nov 29, 2012
    Bunnylady

Bunnylady True BYH Addict

All of the people that I know that have donkeys (both miniature and standard) say to feed them hay, no grain and especially no sweet feed. Donkeys have very efficient digestive systems, they almost get fat on air! Donkeys that are overfed develop pads of fat on their butts and necks that are almost impossible to get rid of, it's much better to keep them at a good weight to begin with. I don't have a donkey myself, but I do have a miniature mule, and all of the above applies to her x3!

chickens really likes this.
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    BrayJunction

BrayJunction Chillin' with the herd