I need some help, I have questions about feeding black oil sunflower seeds

WILLIFORD

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I am new to the goat world. We just purchased 3 Nigerian dwarfs does in the last 2-3 months. One is a 3 year old who is in milk. The other two are only about 6 months old. My 3 year olds production seems to be a little on the low side. At best I am getting about 3 cups a day, this is the total from milking twice a day. She gets all the grain she can consume during the 2 milkings and has free choice quality alfalfa, plus free choice minerals, copper and baking soda. I have read that adding BOSS to her diet can help boost production. My question is should I be giving her whole sunflower seeds or is it necessary to give her already hulled seeds, and how much should I give her?

lalabugs

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
A lot of things can affect lactation. When did she kid? Do you happen to know how many babies she had? When you say grain, what grain do you mean? Do you have any pictures of her? Love seeing pics. :)

I would not keep baking soda out. I have not milked a Nigerian in a little while. I think we were getting around 3-4 C for the day with our doe who was a 3 y/o 3F. She had triplets.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
Check fecal count. If high it will effect production.
Then look at Somatic Cell Count if you can.
BOSS helps put a little weight on and is nice for the coat and skin, however it is very high in Phosphorus and can throw off the Calcium to Phosphorus ratio very quickly which can lead to metabolic issues.
Baking soda should not be left free choice.
Attached is an article from the Alabama Farmers Co-op
http://www.alafarmnews.com/index.php/battling-bloat

I am unaware of it increasing production.

Sounds like you are providing adequate feed and good hay.
Does the doe utilize the feed? IOW does she turn it into milk or body fat?

WILLIFORD

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score